Nowadays, food has become easier to prepare. Has this change improved the way people live?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The food industry has influenced our relationship with aliments in several ways. One of the biggest inovations of this industry was the facility to prepare many kinds of foods that are already processed. This innovation raises discussions, since there is people that support this innovation and other ones that doesn’t see positive benefits in it. Personally, I am in the second group, considering that this behavior towards food resulted in healthy problems and uncontrolled consumption of resources.

One might argue that food industry allowed to make life a little more comfortable trough the creation of many sorts of food aliments that are very easy to prepare. A couple of minutes in a microwave are all that takes to have the next lunch, allowing busy people to save some time and in many cases to be some economy. In this context, people that support this kind of food might use this example as a demonstration that food easy to prepare have benefits to our modern society, since it is practical and help to saves money.

However, this is only one side of the coin. While it might have some positive aspects in the fact that food has become easier to be prepared, the problems related to it are bigger than the positive aspects. The health problems are one of these negative aspects. In many supermarkets it’s cheaper to buy processed food that only needs a couple of time to be ready for be consumed than aliments that requires some effort to cook it. In general, these types of easy to be prepared food are not healthy and generates serious consequences in people that consumes it in an abusive way. For instance, in United States, there are high levels of obesity between teenagers which is a health problem related with the abusive consumption of fast food. Moreover, this type of industrialized food are poisonous for the body in other ways, causing increase in cholesterol levels and effecting the heart.

Moreover, this type of food can result in prejudices for environment, since it is related with uncontrolled consumption of resource. For instance, when someone buys a certain food that is already prepared and only takes a few minutes to ready to eat, in general we are talking about an aliment that doesn’t require dishes and other acessories to be consumed. These generates high levels of garbage, which includes a high amount of plastic and other elements been discarded in the nature without any treatment. The industry have been not able to recycle this amount of garbage that has been produced by fast foods and other similar types of food.

To conclude, one might see some positive aspect in the fact that food nowadays has become easier to prepare. However, this changed in a bad way our relationship with what we eat. We lack a better contact with the food, which generates a series of health problems and also results in huge impacts in our environment.