We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening th

Firstly, a café will not necessarily increase the amount of sells book in the store. It’s necessary to make a research in order to understand how attractive could be the existence of a coffee shop inside the building. Managers should try to understand customers tastes toward it. Buyers might prefer investments in the store related with the book sections itself such as an increase in the amount of books about physics or history, for instance.

Secondly, it’s important to evaluate the consequences in eliminate from the store the children’s book section to replace for the café. While census might demonstrate a reduction in children’s population, this section might be very popular between buyers which can like to take their kids to buy book in the stores. If Monarch Books is well recognized for this book section, then it might attract entire families and this might result in sells made for more than one person, since customers would like to buy books not only for their children but also for themselves. In this sense, to eliminate this book section might result in decrease of sells.

Finally, the Board of Directors argues that a café would help the book store to compete with the Regal Books, since this store already has a coffee shop. However, one should ask “How good is the business after Regal Books opened this café?” Such an investment doesn’t guarantee the business will become more profitable. In the end, a café could be a waste of money since means an investment much more related with food business than book store business. One should analyze if Regal Books is really earning more money after it had opened the coffee shop.

Thus, the Board of Directors of Monarch Books should pay better attention to their assumptions. In order to reinforce the perspectives made it’s necessary to evaluate whether the costumers will enjoy or not the idea; also, the impacts in excluding the children’s book section from the store should be carefully reviewed; finally, it’s important to consider whether is really a good investment or a waste of money to build the café in the store considering the experience of the store who competes with Monarch Books.