Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take

In our society college education is considered very important to improve the life and career of someone, since the market have become very competitive. However, not everybody is able to pay for college education. In this sense, it’s important the government offer support to students in a situation of indulgence since governments should promote equal opportunities to everybody.

Some might say that free tuition fees for students that don’t have monetary conditions to pay for a university is a mistaken choice. For them, government would have to spend a lot of money in an action that would not solve problems like inequality and lack of good opportunities since this kind of problems are not answered in superior education but on the basis of a society. Try to solve social problems by funding poor students would only attenuate these problems. Besides, this sort of investment would mean that government might withdraw to put money in the basis of the educational public system in order to invest in students that might not even be successful in their college.

While this perspective might make sense, it doesn’t cover important elements in this subject. It’s necessary to remember that governments need to promote equal opportunities to everybody. That’s why we are so concerned about the public education in our countries because this system should be good enough for every student to develop their abilities and have a good future. For this same reason government should offer support for people that don’t have money to pay for it. Nations should offer the same opportunities for those who had the capacity to be accepted in universities but can’t afford the tuitions. It’s unfair to imagine a student that was approved in a great university but don’t have money to pay for it.

In this sense, while countries like Brazil still struggle in many aspects with the quality of it educational system it’s possible to see this system as a positive one in funding poor students in universities. Brazilian better universities are public and the better universities doesn’t require tuition fees. Moreover, students that are poor might have scholarships to fund themselves with things related to food, housing and transport. Many Brazilians saw it as way to spend money in something considered not useful to answer the educational problems of the country. However, this action allowed many students to get a college degree and improve their quality of life. The actual Brazilian generation has the highest level in history of people with a college degree and in many cases young Brazilians were the first of their families to arrive at this educational level.

In conclusion, one can see many positive aspects in governments helping students to pay for their tuition fees. Governments have all conditions to create good filters where it can judge the financial conditions of a student and then offer scholarships to the ones that don’t have money. Certainly this attitude it’s not the ultimate solution for social problems and education quality, however it’s a good way to help with these struggles.