Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Which point of view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

University education and its methodologies are very important and it should be take into consideration when we consider the learning quality in universities. In this context, there is a discussion between the necessity to attend the classes in the campus or the possibility to make the presence in the classes not mandatory. Personally, I believe it's better for the learning process to make students attend the classes since they might develop their speech skills and also have better contact with other students, subjects and professors.

Some might say that college education doesn't require the necessity to make students attend the classes in university campus. In this sense, one might argue that college students are not kids anymore and they should decide whether it is important to go to the classes or not. Some students might prefer to spend more time studying in their rooms or at the library and these students are able to have good grades even if they don't attend to the classes. In this context, students that have discipline and familiarity with a certain subject need to have the rights to skip classes they don't feel the necessity to attend.

While the points presented above might have fair arguments, it's necessary to consider the importance to assemble students and professor in the classes. During the classes, students might have the opportunity to discuss the subjects among them. These face to face conversations are very important to the learning process since students are able to develop their capacities to talk about complex topics. They might develop their speaking skills which is something very important nowadays, considering that people needs to be able to defend their ideas. Even considering that a student might be smart enough to have good grades in the writing exams, he also should be examined by his capacity to talk and express himself.

Moreover, the classes are an environment where students might have a better contact with each other and with the professor too. Attend classes means be capable to socialize with people within an environment which is something important when students leave the university to start a professional career. For instance, a student that didn't develop these skills at the university might have problems when facing other co-workers at his job environment. In this sense, this person might suffer with the lack of ability to deal with other persons and all the feelings that might exist among them.

In conclusion, we can say that it's important to make students attend the classes at the university. The classes are not only about understand a subject in order to have good grades at the exams, it is also about developing social skills and the ability to understand different points of view and at the same time be able to express that perspective he might have about a certain topic.