On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the

It’s argued that the amount of mopeds available for rent should be reduced in Balmer Island in order to decrease accidents between mopeds and pedestrians. It’s also stated that Seaville is a good example of how this kind of decision helps in achieve a slower amount of accidents involving mopeds. However, this assumption should be better analyzed for some reasons.

Firstly, one should be careful in associate the reduction of accidents involving mopeds in Seaville Island only to the reduction of the amount of mopeds daily available for rent in this island. The council from this island could have improved investments in traffic related to mopeds and also it could have spent more resources in tools to educate moped users and pedestrians to behave themselves when going from one place to other in the island. In this sense, a reduction in the amount of mopeds could have been only one of the answers that Seaville council could have used and it would be not enough to resolve the problem in Balmer Island.

Secondly, the reduction in the amounts of mopeds available for rent would not guarantee the decrease in the accidents. If there is no criteria at all for people that will rent mopeds or there is poor infrastructure in Balmer Island, there is a possibility that accidents continues to have the same levels than before the reduction. One cannot use the measures from one place without making a profound research in the reasons why it worked there. It would be necessary to compare the characteristics from both Islands to understand if there are conditions to apply the measures used in Seaville Island.

Finally, it’s necessary to evaluate the importance of mopeds in both islands. If Seaville Island is smaller than Balmer Island, then mopeds could be easier changed by other transportation options. In this context, mopeds could be more important to Balmer considering the size of it and a forced reduction in the amounts of mopeds could be hurtful for business in this island. Tourist could feel less interested in go to this place since transportation could become harder to them.

In conclusion, the assumption made by Balmer Island council should be better analyzed. In order to reinforce the assumption it’s necessary to: evaluate with more attention the measures taken in Seaville Island; analyze if it’s possible to adapt this measures in Balmer Island; finally, analyze the importance of mopeds to the tourism business in Balmer Island.