In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement

When a discovery is made in any field, there is a variety of reasons why it was possible to achieve that revolutionary answer to a certain question. In this sense, it could be discussed what makes possible to realize important contribution in a certain field. Some say that a genius may appear and find cogent answers for some subject without have a solid basis about that subject, others believe that it requires effort in understanding past knowledge in order to develop a work that can make a great contribution to a certain field. Evidences demonstrates that a solid background about the field is more important to keep knowledge evolving.

It’s possible that someone might say that great contributions within a subject could come from discoveries made by a genius or even from not expected events which involves aspect such as lucky. Take the example of the explorers that discovery America, such as Cristovan Colombo. History states that Colombo never wanted to discovery a new continent, since he was looking for a new commercial route trough the sea. However, he was able to find the American continent without any intention to do that. He didn’t have any knowledge or previous information about the possibility to exist this continent, yet many will say that lucky made Colombo a famous explorer thanks to this discovery.

However, we cannot state the importance of previous knowledge in any field when we talk about make contributions to a subject. To develop skills and try to understand how fields work inside a certain are is very important if someone is looking for give contributions to this area. Using the same example of the European explorers, we can affirm that even considering they did not intend to discover that lands, they have a previous knowledge developed for many navigators before Colombo that allowed the discoverers of the new world to travel for longer distances than before with more safety. While luck might have helped navigators to find these lands, they had a background in the navigation field that allowed them do this kind of exploration.

Moreover, the development of the spatial program in our modern society is also an example of the importance in respect previous knowledge. The spatial programs trough the world evolved decades by decades, always respecting the development achieved before. This resulted in the series of explorations made the Apollo’s space crafts that allowed astronauts to explore the moon in several missions. The discoveries and achievements in this field was only possible because previous knowledge were respected by the ones who participated in these programs.