Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

Scandals can happen in many areas such as politics, celebrity lives, work environment and other ones. In this sense, there are people that consider scandals as a way to distract society from real problems, while other ones believe that scandals are useful to highlight problems and discussions which were forgotten, ignored or feared to be touched. Even considering negative elements of scandals, it’s possible to affirm that these events are very important to bring some issues into our focus, since it may be considered difficult to be discus some of them in ordinary conditions.

One can argue that scandals are pure sensationalism made by the media companies. In general, people that don’t like to follow this kind of news tend to see it as a way to distract society from elements that really matters. For instance, while a sexual scandal could be discovered in Hollywood, this person could argue that this could be a way to distract audience from what is happening in the political field or this person could argue that many women in certain parts of the world face sexual harassment everyday and nobody cares because they are not famous.

While this kind of argument could be considered true in many ways, one cannot ignore the importance that scandals could be in order to discuss questions about our society that many people don’t have the courage to talk. Take the case of the sexual abuse scandals that were recently discovered in Hollywood. It was discovered that many actresses and some actors from Hollywood were victims of certain types of sexual harassment. In general, these acts were made by influential movie producers and actors for many years, however no one has the courage to talk about it. When the scandal was discovered, many professionals from this business field revealed that were victims of sexual abuses in Hollywood and this raised a big discussions about the quality of this environment, especially for women. In this context, emerged the #MeToo movement, where women and men started to openly discuss about sexual harassments that happened in their lives and tried to find justice for the victims.

Moreover, scandals in the political spectrum are very important too. The Brazilian Corruption scandals are an interesting example. In this case, Brazilian prosecutors discovered complex bribe schemes involving many politicians and influential business people. These cases of corruption in the country raised an intense discussion about how the democratic apparatus of the country is flawed which was something important to start discussion about how to overcome this kind of problems in the country.

In conclusion, while some people can argue that scandals are not useful because they are only distractions to an audience, we were able to demonstrated that scandals can be a way to open discussions about sensible questions. These questions might be related with all sorts of elements within a society, which can result in healthy discussions and look for answers that all of us face.