To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

A society must be comprehended by analyzing the whole elements that compose it. The big cities located in a certain society has an important role in understanding a society, however it might not be enough to have a broader knowledge about a people or a nation. In this context, not only the major cities should be a matter of study but other social environments.

One might argue that in the big cities it’s possible to understand the way a society behaves itself, since in these cities it’s possible to find people all around the country sharing a similar way of life. Take New York city as an example. Many people might argue that a study about the dynamics in this city might be crucial to understand the America Way of Life. In New York, it’s possible to understand how United States society behave towards work life, cultural expressions, political divisions, health life, etc. In this context, it’s also possible to look for other big cities to have understand a little better the nuances that composes this society.

However, to do an analysis like that might create a very biased perspective about a certain society. Using the New York example, one scientist might discover that people that lives in this city has a very bad behavior toward food. As a consequence, it might be understood that U.S society might have poor habits in relation to what they eat. At the other hand, the research might simply be ignoring that in many other places, like the country side, people might have eat much more healthy food, which can be result in a research that doesn’t have the capacity to analyze broader components within a society.

In this context, it’s very important to not remain only in the major cities when we are trying to understand how a certain people or culture behave themselves. The studies will be more accurate in it tries to understand aspects from different components from this society. Take the case of the Brazil for instance. This country is recognized in the world for it cultural variety and richness. All of these cultural elements could not be analyzed in the major cities of Brazil. The African roots of Brazil might be seen in a major city like Salvador, however this city is far away to have sum up all the elements that composes this reach cultural roots. The same argument goes for indigenous people that also forms the Brazilian culture. The diversity of languages and expressions that many Brazilians indigenous people have cannot be analyzed in cities such as Sao Paulo, because in general these cultural expressions are in the country side of Brazil or located in the Amazon Forest.

Moreover, it’s a misconception to think that all society might have what could be considered a “city”. This perspective imposes an idea that cultures organize themselves in urban spaces, which is not always true. What can be considered a “major city” for people that lives in very remotes places of Asia and that are not familiar with the idea of an urban space? All these elements should be considered.

Thus, it’s very reckless to try to understand a society only studying its major cities, it’s necessary to have a broader perspective about a society in order to understand better the dynimics inside of it.