Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall stu

Omega University is thinking about terminate the student evaluation of professors which might be impacting in the vision employers have about students graduated at Omega University. This decision should be carefully analyzed for some reasons.

Firstly, graduates from Omega University will not be more attractive for employers just because the university is not using the teaching effectiveness evaluation. Employers might perceive there is a lot of people looking for a job that got a degree at this university when the evaluation was happening. In this sense, the perception about these former students would not be changed from one day to another just because university decided not to use the evaluation system anymore.

Secondly, employers might have a mistaken perspective about Omega University initiative. While at the first glance the increase in grades might raise skepticism among employers, they might be wrong about the reasons why students had a boost in their grades at the University. It might be the case that Omega University was really able to improve teaching quality of professors which resulted in a real improvement in the way students learn subjects. In this sense, instead of terminate the evaluation system it would be more interesting to demonstrate to employers that this evaluation process really had good results.

Finally, the reasons why employers might be biased to hire people graduated at Alpha University might be others than the Omega’s teaching evaluation. Employers might have got their degrees at Alpha University and have preferences for people that studied there. In this sense, the existence of such process of teaching evaluation would be an excuse to refuse to hire people that got a degree at Omega. In this situation, to terminate the evaluation would not solve the problem.

In conclusion, one can say that the decision to terminate the teaching evaluation process should be carefully reviewed. In order to reinforce this decision, it should be considered things such as: the velocity of change in the visions of employers about the university; mistaken perspective employers might have about the teaching evaluation and improvements made by Omega University; finally, how biased toward Alpha University employers from the region might be.