A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The way a country educates it inhabitants is very important to the future of this nation. There are many ways to educate students before they enter in college. Students might follow a national curriculum or a curriculum that varies in forms. While a national curriculum has it positive points, a diversified curriculum has more positive aspects since they allow students to better develop their vocations and to understand better the dynamics of the place where they came from.

One might say that a national curriculum is more appropriate way to educate students before they go to college. A national curriculum allows government to better analyze the quality of the contents offered in the schools. For instance, Brazilian government just changed it educational system to a standardized one, where students learn the same content. In this example, many experts suport the idea implemented in Brazil because in a such a large country it was possible to control the quality of what is teached to pupils. In this sense, instead of spend a high amount of money in controlling what contents teachers are transfering to students the government might spend more resources in the quality of the teaching methods and in the improvement of the national curriculum. Also, a national curriculum is considered by many experts a better way to educate young people that will face national exams in order to enter in college in the final high school year.

However, a standardized curriculum to all students of a country have many negative aspects. Continuing to use to Brazilian example, it's possible to see in this country that many students are not been capable to develop their vocations in school and to develop their abilities before goes to college. That's because a national curriculum doesn't allow students to spend more time learning what they have more interest. If a student that have good abilities in physics wants to spend more time developing his skills before goes to college, probably this students will not be able to do this, considering that this student needs to study the same amount of time to all subjects in school. Moreover, many experts detected that students are not been capable to understand the history and culture from his own region, since they have a standardized material to learn. Brazil is a country with continental proportions and also it has a very diversified culture. In this context, the cultural and historical aspects that are in the standardized books offered by the government in public schools give much more attention to elements related to the areas where there are more inhabitants in the country, such as Rio de Janeiro or Sao Paulo. In this sense, a kid that leaves in a place far away from these two big states might learn only about the culture and historical facts of these states and might not be capable to learn about waht happened in his own state or city.

In conclusion, while one might see positive elements in a national curriculum, it's reckeless to educate kids with a standardized content. The students might have different interests they want to develop more and also this kind of educational system might obliterate part of the culture, history and social specificities within a nation.