Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supp

Education in general is considered a pathway to achieve success in professional life. In this sense, there is a perspective that to be successful in a certain field means to have a lucrative career. While this perspective might be true in many senses, it’s not possible to make such a generalization. With this aspect in mind, we can say that educational institutions should incentive students to develop their skills in fields they like and might achieve success which doesn’t mean these institutions should only prepare students for lucrative careers.

Some might say that educational institutions should guide students to achieve success and by success we mean to have a career that can result in a lot of money in the future. In this context, schools and universities should prepare students to be good at what “really matters” in life and make them rely in profitable careers. This assumption might be fair, however it does not take into consideration many important elements in the educational field and the way a person achieves success.

It’s important to consider that schools and universities cannot be considered places where students go only thinking about making a lot of money in the future. This sort of perspective would hurt not only students but also educational institutions itself because the focus in the learning process would be based in subjects that are considered “profitable” and not in personal interests and vocations. This perspective about education is disparate from what we expect from educational institutions since this sort of environment should be used as an opportunity to develop ideas, boost creativity and find ways to solve problems within a society.

Moreover, in order to achieve success and a lucrative career, one needs to put a lot of effort studying a certain subject. In this context, would be very difficult to achieve success in a certain field without have a truly interest on that subject. Then, it’s possible to affirm that success and money are the result of a learning process that in first place requires a truly interest and passion with that subject. In this sense, educational institutions are not able to decide what a student is truly passionate about, these institutions might only guide them to develop their capacities and things they are good and have interest.

In this sense take the example of arts subjects like painting, acting and music. In general they are not considered a field where people can make a lot of money. This perspective doesn’t means arts should not be lectured in schools and universities considering that arts are a consequential subject in order to develop our skills that allow us to be critical towards our society. At the same time, an artist might feel as someone successful because his job is appreciated and respected which means money would not mean everything to some persons.

In conclusion, we can affirm that educational institutions should help students to improve their skills and at the same time guide them to boost their abilities in a field they might like. However, these institutions are not able to impose what careers students should take just because it is profitable career because not everybody thinks about success as a matter of money.