The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Balmer island council adduces that by circumscribing the number of rented mopeds to 25 in the island, it will reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians by half because the same policy was adopted in a town in the vicinity and such outcome was achieved. At a first glance, the deduction made by the council would sound plausible due to the fact that both towns are nearly located, thereby they possibly share some visitors. However, scrutinizing the assumptions, there are questions that need to be answered before reaching the conclusion made.

First of all, it is not mentioned in the letter the rate of accidents in other seasons of the years, when the island is not expecting to receive tourists and the population is smaller. Maybe the accidents occur all over the year and they are not directly related to the arrival of those new comers in the summer. Thus, if this can be verified, limiting the quantity of rentals only in the summer may not produce the expected result. The amount of accidents may decrease but ata rate not as high as alleged.

Second, just because the adoption a policy to reduce the number of rentals in one town was successful, it is not garanteed that aplying that for other communities will reach the same goal. Perhaps the former is a small village where people can access places by foot and the shortage of avaliable mopeds to rent would not lead people to look for alternative forms of commuting. On the Balmer island, conversely, if the region is voluminous, people may be forced to seek for other kinds of transportation to move around the territory, this could, actually increase the number accidents, including the ones involving mopeds, pedestrians and, let’s say, a car. Therefore, the topological characteristics of the islands should be also described by the author to support its assumptions.

Last but not least, even if the number of accidents reduces after more stringent rule for renting a moped, it can not be assured that the number of accidents will diminish in the same rate as the number of rentals. Suppose, for instance, that half of those accidents were caused by just one bad driver. Even if the rentals are more restrained, the council cannot garantee that such conductor will not be able to keep renting mopeds. So, the accidents may, as well as previously described, rise. Obviously, they could eventually reduce if the rentals are more spread among renters, but hardly they will fall 50 percent. For that reason, the author should have given more details about the distribution of accidents by rentals.

In conclusion, the letter uses the sucessful results obtained by a neighbor town regarding accidents between mopeds and pedestrians to make deductions about the outcomes of applying a similar policy in the Balmer island. If fails, conversely, to provide essencial details that are essencial to buttress that conclusion. Some of them, as discussed previously, could not only digress the original goal, but also they could provoke the opposite upshot.