Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

One cannot assume that despite baskets were found only around Palea, these artifacts should be, therefore, particular to Palean people. The Palean neighborhood could have specialized in the production of such baskets as well. The knowledge to produce them could have been shared between close communities or taught by Palean people to civilizations nearby.

On the other hand, the fact that the river is deep cannot serve as proof that Palean people were not the only ones to have the skills necessary to make up the baskets. It is not mentioned in the passage if the river was always deep. Maybe its current profundity does not reflect its old one. If in the past the water reached a lower level or even, if there was no river at all in that region, it would be very plausible to assume that Palean people could have walked to regions in the proximity.

Even assuming the existance of the river with the stated profundity in Palean era, boats used by Palean people could have been destroyed along the years. The remains could have been spread out in such a way that it would not have been possible to track their existance. For that reason, one cannot assume either that Palean baskets were not particular to that people by this argument.