The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The letter adduces that the television station should return to give more attention to weather and local news in order to address its spectors complaints and to maintain its current sponsors. The evidences provided in the memorandum, however, are flimsy as they could be easily undermined by possible alternative explanations.

The letter starts by claiming that the majority of the spectors are carping the coverage of weather and local news. On the other hand, the contents of such critics were not detailed,. If so, they could have shown that people are insatisfied with the reporter, the edition or even the credibility of the news instead of the paltry time allotted to the programs. If weather forecasts are wrong, for instance, people may be frustrated and they may start to complain about it. Moreover, the magnitude of the complaints was not shown; thus, the relevance of such insatisfaction cannot be infered. In other words, in numbers, those complaints are really substantial to be taken for granted?

Second, the author says that local sponsors of the late-night news program are resigning their advertising contracts with the station. Other than the lack of coverage of weather and local news, there are other plausible reasons for this evasion: advertising prices have become more expensive in the station, other stations are attracting more audience or even a local crisis is affecting the local companies and forcing them to lessen the number of commercial advertisements in television.

Last, the manager suggests that the station should return to give more attention to weather and local news as it did in the past. With this statement, he is implying that the station used to have a stable relationship with enterprises and audience before programs`s redesigning. However, in order to strengthen that argument, he should have provided figures of the revenues and popularity of the station in the past comparet to its current situation.

To sum up, based on the evidences provided, the conclusion that the station is loosing revenues and is being criticized because it is devoting less time to weather and local news is feeble. In order to strengthen his point, the author should have provided details about the contents of the complaints and their relevance in numbers. Furthermore, he should have delineated if the economic situation of the region, the station`s audience and advertising prices are preserved. Finally, the financial conditions of the station prior to decreasing the weather and local news importance should also have been presented.