The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

The statement claims that a study provided insights about the relation between the monkey’s order of birth and the amount of stimulae trigered by the body, suggesting higher levels of cortisol on first-born individuals in comparison to the next progeny. It fails, though, in exposing the ways this study was made, how was the environment where the monkeys were submited to, their food sources and so on. Being in a harsh milieu or having an inadequate diet could reasonably induce the unbalanced hormon levels on firstborns.

The article follows by saying that firstborn humans also display the aforementioned abnormality in the level of stimulation. Here, another possible explanation could be that first-time parents are not experienced enough in the task of raising a child. So all the frustrations and concerns they may have, could directly afflict their older child. This argument is reinforced by the last paragraph, in which the publication finishes by claiming that first-time mother monkeys also presented higher levels of cortisol during first pregnancy.

As humans, the firstborn child is supposed to look after and protect his/her younger brothers and sisters during their lives. This charge of responsability encumbed to the first progeny can be an overwhelming task, and can whet his/her levels of stimulation hormons along time. This kind of family duty is not exclusive to the human race. Considering the genetic similarities between humans and monkeys, it would not be levian to believe that primates behave the same way. To strengthen this assumption, the article gives as an example of stimulation an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey. The appearance of an unknown specimen could be interpreted as a threat to the defender (the firstborn monkey), raising its levels of cortisol more than in its protégés.

Finally, the paper’s proposed explanation could be bolstered if the author provided studies showing that the level of stimulation were maintained in groups in which the firstborn died right after the birth. Assuming the explanation provided in the last two paragraphs, the secondborn child should assume the position of the first one, either by absorbing the frustrations of first-time parents, or by having the duty to assume a position of protector of its future siblings. Therefore, this child or monkey should also present higher levels of stimulation in the absence of the first sibling.