In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement adduces that past achievements strongly influence substancial contributions, regardless the field of endeavor. This assumption sounds plausible once previous experiences can provide inputs to future studies, which can benefit from they by discarding irrelevant ideas or by reinforcing germane ones. Yet, there may be situations in which this influence may not be so advantageous to the work being developed.

Refinement and perfection are two features that come with hours of devotion over some work. Few discoveries are made abruptly, without striving or scrutinizing the matter being studied; and even those that are so, they generally need to be worked out in order to become significant and robust. Past accomplishments can thereby play an important role as they can wane some not strong affairs. It is said that excellence is achieved through mistakes. So, by not repeating the errors commited in past experiences, scholars can focus on cases that are more consistent to the subject being studied.

Furthermore, those past findings can not only expose mistakes, but also they can provide the basis to future studies. People can then propose new ideas upon those previous contributions instead of trying to reinvent an already consolidated discovery. Automobilistic factories can devote their attention to the aerodynamic or potency of a car, instead of discussing the shape of the wheel, for example. This ancient achievement has already proven itself to be efficient the way it is.

Conversely, taking a past achievement for granted can have an adverse effect too. It can circumscribe creativity. People may put themselves in a confortable zone and they may not feel the neecessity to revisit such previous works. In a sense, iconoclastic ideas can be precluded to come up if novel works are strongly influenced by past achievements. Perhaps, instead of defying the geocentrism theory, Nicolaus Copernicus would have devoted his life to develop new theories upon the belief that celestial bodies moved around the earth, if he had based his studies on previous affairs, for instance.

In conclusion, previous achievements can be of valuable importance in the development of important contributions. Not only because they can provide inputs to buttress plausible ideas, but also because they can abate spurious ones. However, sometimes they can be deleterious for the discovery of a breakthrough, as they can hamper the reexamination of previous findings.