Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claiming is that the secret to the success of any enterprise - even in business, education or politics - is that after five years, those in power should step down from their positions so that the leadership board could be refreshed. At a first glance, that sounds seemly plausible, since new leaders can bring new ideas, which can improve the results obtained by the enterprise. However, sometimes the characteristics of the business requires more stable and consistent decisions, what can be harmed by frequent commander changes.

In the government and political field, this revitalization of people on power can be very benefitial to a country. First because it helps precluding corruption, second because it provides room for new ideologies and approaches be tested. If the same group of people are in power for a long time, they have more influence over other politicians and companies, and, therefore, they can easily benefit from venal affairs. If the command is frequently changed after a period of time, the new people in charge will eed to spend some time growing their web of influence before starting any bribery activity. Moreover, changing political representants more often increases the probability that iconoclastic politicians may reach higher positions in government and may deploy varied approaches to deal with tipical problems.

In the business and educational areas, conversely, this continuous modification in the leadership board may not be as beneficial as in the political field. A company should provide to its employees opportunities to grow and become leaders one day, indeed. But, there should not exist an obligation to changing the bosses periodically, they should be dismissed when they are not able to achieve better results or if they do not feel comfortable in their position anymore. In addition, educational and business plans are frequently designed with a strategical point of view. Often, they aim to reach goals in a future longer than 5 years ahead. This requires strong stability and consistency in the decisions made by their leaders. If those step down every five years, such plans may become somewhat volatile.

The last question one could raise is why five is the number of years desired? Was any kind of study made and success cases analyzed to prove the validity of such cabalistic number? It is really strange to come up with a number that would fit perfectly for all fields and areas, considering they have different characteristics that may affect directly the best period to provide some kind of change in the leadership. For example, in an oil and gas company, where decisions are made now targeting what is likely to happen after ten years - considering the average time to getting licenses, explore and produce a petroleum field, it sounds unlikely that changing the chiefs every five years will be advantageous. On the other hand, for a presidential mandate, such dimension could fit very well for a country's purposes.

In conclusion, it is not likely that applying a general rule to every enterprise will work well for all of them. Some may benefit from a change in their command, others may not. Still, to the formers, the definition of the most suitable amount of time for that matter should not be a generic number. Otherwise, it should be a decision incumbent on the enterprises themselves.