The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The letter claims that Adams Realty estate firm is superior to Fitch Realty based on the following facts: number of agents, amount of revenue, average price of home sales and total time spent between listing and actually selling a home. The assumptions made, however, are rife with gaps of explanation, and are quite questionable by the following arguments.

First of all, the number of employees can not be taken as a strong metric of comparison between two companies. Maybe Fitch’s agents are more eficient in selling homes. This would make Fitch superior in quality, even if their agents are outnumbered by the Adams’.

The next arguments are regarding the amount of money involved in the transactions done by the firms. They try to imply that Adams is a better company because its revenue was twice as high as that of Fitch. Furthermore, the average price of home sales was higher in the former. Nonetheless, this argument is fickle due to lack of information about the characteristics of the homes listed by the firms. If the majority of the homes advertised by Adams are superior in price, it is obvious that the renevue and the average price of the buildings are going to be greater in number than Fitch’s. Suppose, for example, that Fitch’s agents sell 10 homes at a price of US$ 50,000 each and Adams’ agents sell 5 homes at a price of US$ 110,000 each. This gives a total of US$ 500,000 and US$ 550,000 revenue for Fitch and Adams agency, respectivelly. This, however, does not imply that Adams is superior to Fitch. Actually, it shows that Fitch’s agents are more efficient in selling properties even if the total revenue and average price of home sales on Adams firm was higher.

The author then closes the letter claiming that when he listed his property with Fitch it took more time to sell than when he listed with Adams. Thus, the latter would be more efficient when it comes to selling homes quickly.This argument is also arguable, though. The author did not mention whether both homes were similar. If they were not, his comparison of time spent for selling can not be supported. For instance, if the second home was located in a better location, if it had better ammenities, if it were either bigger or newer, this could have bolstered its fast sale.

To sum, the letter provides absolute numbers regarding each firm to assess their quality. Conversely, it fails to give substancial information regarding the features of the properties sold and the number of transactions performed by the agents, which, by the counter arguments brought up in the previous paragraphs, could undermine the main conclusion that Adams firm is superior to Fitch.