Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The shortage of natural resources is a paramount subject in the modern world. Since the industrial revolution, the planet has been suffering the consequences of a massive eagerness for monetary gains. As far as I am concerned, nations should start to take preservation of wilderness sites for granted, they should create laws and policies to preclude the overexploration of the earth's natural places, as the destruction of those places can be deleterious to the society in many ways.

By circumscribing the possible interactions with the wild enviromnent, governments will probably have to deal with a decrease in the economic gains at first. Companies usually do not see investiments in the preservation of nature as salutary. Instead, they usually wish to explore the milieu in order to produce money from the resources usage. Coversely, they could benefit from a policy of preservation as the debilitation of the environment can affect their production in a long term, especially if their main resources are non-renewable.

Additionally, the lack of enough pristine areas can affect people's health. We are already suffering from the so-called maladies of the modern world like depression, stress and so on. Who can assure that they are not mostly caused by the aggressive depletion of the planet`s resources along the years? It is hard to look for a placid place to take a rest when you are in a megalopolis like New York City, for example, and all you can see are buildings around your head. Sometimes people just need to be reintegrated to natural areas so that they can be recuperated from a disease.

In conclusion, even if a nation needs to aim its economical growth, there has to be a balance between the exploration of the environment and the potential gains that such activity could bring to the society. The depletion of the wilderness areas can not only temper with the sustainability of those earnings, but it can also affect people`s health.