The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter adduces that by prohibiting skatebording in Central Plaza, business in the area are likely to reach its previous popularity. The author suggests that the decrease in business are due to the augment in the number of skateboard users around the place, but he fails to provide substantial arguments to buttress such conclusion.

First of all, a raise in the number of skateboard users could have, conversely, increased the incomes of the stores. Once more they started to attend the area, it would be more likely that, at least some of them, could spend money in the stores. The author treat the skateboard users as a threat to the frequent clientel of the place, but the letter lacks evidence to support that matter.

The author follows by claiming that there has been a sharp increase in the amount of litter and vandalism in the plaza. He gives no supporting evidence, however, to relate this fact to the presence of the skateboarders. Litter and vandalism may have whet because of a negligence in the administration of the area. If it is a public place, the government may be facing some shortcomings in security and economical areas. If it is under a private management, the stores may be investing little to clean the area, since they are going through hard times. Furthermore, litter and vandalism could have been the reason to frighten the customers, not the skateboarders.

Also there is no comment whether there was a change in the price policies of the stores. If they increased their margin of profit by elevating the prizes of the products, this could have put away some customers. Because less people were attending the area, skateboarders then could have seen an opportunity to use the place to skating. Again, the increase in the number of skateboarders would not be the reason to the decrement in the number of customers, but the consequence of it. So prohibiting them to attend the area would not solve the problem at all.

To sum, the arguments used in the letter are full of gaps. They can not corroborate that reducing the number of skateboard users in the area is going to solve the dispersal of clientele in the plaza. More evidence regarding the maintenance of store’s policies and government programs in the area should be provided to strengthen the author’s claims.