Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment—doing things they like to do—rather than doing things they should do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A lot of things have been affecting people's priorities in the modern world, technology is one of them. The question is whether people prefer to do things they like to the detriment of things they do not. From my perspective, people are currently most prone to act for pleasure rather than for duty, due to the effects of a massive technological exposition which is going to be further detailed in the next paragraphs.

First, there are the social networks. People spend all day in their smartphones or computers using digital social networks. I go to work by subway and everyday I see dozens of people facing the screen of their respective gadgets and scrolling pages of facebook, instagram or whatsapp. The majority of these people, like me, has duties to fulfill. Some students have a close exam to be prepared for, teachers have classes to review and few of them seem to be worried about those activities. It looks like pleasure always comes first nowadays.

Next, there are the smartphones themselves as well as other electronic gadgets like tablets, smart watches and so on. Besides the example in the previous paragraph, I see people grabbed to their electronic devices anywhere in my job. More impressively, even when I am attending important meetings I see some of my colleagues taking their gadgets to chat or use some fun app. When in a meeting, we are expected to engage or at least pay attention. We are at work, but, again, it is impressive how people seem to forget their obligations to accomplish personal enjoyment today.

Last but not least, people spend all day watching televisions series. I have to confess that I have done that sometimes. I had to finish an important work but I could not concentrate so I decided to watch some television series. The thing is, I could not stop from doing it because it pleased me more than my obligations do. The consequence of that reckless action is that I spent all day in the couch watching television instead of having done what I should have done.

In conclusion, I feel that people are devoting more energy to activities that embrace their personal enjoyments than to activities that they should engage on. Moreover, in my opinion this is highly related to the amenities brought by the technological advance. People should use these advances with responsibility and find a balance to the time spent on pleasure and duty. This will turn their lives even better.