The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In an increasing digital world, bookstores need to improve and provide new services in order to attract and maintain customers. Nowadays, it is quite easy to grab a coffee at a local coffee shop, to have access to almost any book desired and to sit on a placate site to enjoy the reading. So, offering a café to its clientele sounds a reasonable idea to a bookstore aiming to increase its public. However, the recommendation is rife with flimsy assumptions that may not hold true after close scrutiny.

First of all, the author claims that Monarch Books store has a large base of customers because it possesses a wide selection of books on a variety of subjects. That conclusion, however, may not be true. Perhaps the bookstore is popular because it provides a confortable and clean space for reading, or due to the excellence in the attention its employees give to the clientele, or even because they sell books for a reasonable price compared to other bookstores in the vicinity; still, people may like the store because the place is placid, which creates a great atmosphere for reading. So, setting up a café may not be a good idea, because people may start chatting and making noise that till then was extraneous to that place. This could then repel customers.

Furthermore, the letter says the bookstore could descontinue the children`s book section because the percentage of children in the society is waning. Well, even if the number of children decreases, it does not imply that people will stop attending the infants` book section. By dismanteling that section, people who still need books for their children will start to attend other stores, eventually they will start to consume other books from that place too.

Last of all, Regal Books opened its café recently, thereby assuming that Monarch Book has to open one too in order to compete with the former is to imply that the popularity of Regal Books store has increased. That, on the other hand, cannot be corroborated by any information presented in the letter. Actually, if the number of people attenting Regal Books store allays, opening a café could not be as salutary to Monarch`s as the author says it is.

In conclusion, at a first glance, it sounds reasonable that providing a café to the customers could be advantageous to a bookstore. The profile of its current customers, however, has to be taken in to account to avoid certain pitfalls, like repeling the public because the quietness of the place was disturbed or because an important section was discontinued.