Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Global warming is one of the major concerns of the modern world. Scientists all over the world scrutinize this problem trying to understand how it is related to human activities and how it could be mitigated. A wide variety of animal species could suffer from the consequences of such an increase in the planet's temperatures, due to the interference of this advent in the animals' milieu. Because of that, the deduction made in the statement sounds plausible, at a first glance. However, there are some points to be discussed in order to corroborate the final conclusion.

First of all, the argument that deers in the arctic are being wiped out because the temperatures in the planet are raising could be strengthened if the author mentioned that the deers supplies are meager in the regions they live, for that reason they have to hop from their current islands to others - disconnected from the formers because of ice melting - where food is more abundant. Saying nothing about this matter, even if the ice melting is hindering deers to go to different pieces of land, we cannot assert that they are starving where they are living currently.

Second, it is said in the text that local hunters are reporting the deers missing, thereby we can infer that these animals are subject to hunter activities. Perhaps deers population is decreasing because of the exacerbation of that practice. To strengthen the authors's conclusion, the letter should present data regarding the maintenance or reduction of hunting rates along the years; once this practice, if honed, could affect directly the deers disappearance.

Last of all, another possible option is that global warming is indeed affecting deers populational figures. Conversely, due to the non adaptation of the plants to the climate change instead of ice melting effects. Maybe the plants are not being able to survive in warmer temperatures, which would cause their deaths and consequently the deers' as well. So, the authors should complement their assumption with data that buttress the preservation of plant species in the deers habitat.

In conclusion, the author raises a reasonable conclusion about the effects of global warming in deer population in the arctic. Nonetheless, there are some lack of evidence in the text regarding resources and hunting figures that need to be filled to make such deduction robust, as there are alternative explanations which can be inferred from the information provided.