A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The recommentation claims that all students of a nation should be subjected to the same national curriculum before they enter college. A nation should presumably treat all of its citizens with egalitarianism, so such recommendation would sound reasonable at first sight. However, idiosyncrasies of each individual may undermine that hidebound syllabus.

There are some basic subjects that all students must be aware of, because they are necessary to the comprehension of the world and more advanced topics. It is not conceivable, for example, to wipe out math or language from the basic curriculum. These are paramount subjects independent of the career a student might pursuit. Math has applications in a wide range of fields, from engineering to medicine; language in not less important. It is a vital subject in the extent that eloquence is a valuable feature in the professional and social life. Therefore, I agree that basic subjects should comprise an unified national curriculum and they should be taught for every student regardless their preferred fields of study.

Conversely, a government should also provide to its students some possibilities outside that common package. It is important that a student has some interaction with subjects he might see in the college. This could help him to realize that maybe the career he is thinking to purrsue is not so exciting as he thought it would be. Thus, this could help this individual to choose a course more suitable with his preferences in his future attending a college. There are, for example, a lot of people following careers, because of their parents aptitudes. A son of a lawyer may feel excited about working in a court in the future. By having the opportunity to study some basic law subjects before college, he could find out that being an attorney is not as thrilling as he imagined. He could then save a precious time by not starting a course he would probably quit afterward.

In sum, the existance of a common national curriculum to be applyed to all the students is warranted. Yet, the subjects composing that ensemble should be circumscribed to the most basic ones. Moreover, the system should not be rigid; students should have some flexibility to add to their curricuclum some subjects related to their preferences as a future undergraduate.