Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Major cities are of great importance to a country, because they generally are accountable for providing a substantial amount of monetary resources a government need to manage its nation. In order to maintain this continuous generation of incomes, those cities need heavy investments, not commensurable, in its majority, to the ones received by small cities. In the cultural aspect, however, small prerecints should not be neglected by a government. They should also get the financial support they need.

Small cities can capture intrincic aspects of a nation by being less susceptible to foreign influence than megalopolis. Because of their importance regarding economical features, the latter can provide more opportunities and great amenities to their citizens. People from all over the country and even the world are then attracted by the better conditions they may found in such places, what ends up raising the population there. This provokes a change in the cultural characteristics of those major cities, because people bring with them all their beliefs and traditions from their homelands. Thus, some cultural traits of a society might be distorted or lost in such places.

Minor cities, conversely, are less impacted by this globalization. They do not have many resources to provide good facilities, and better professional and financial conditions to the society as major cities do. They are usually composed by people who were born there, or by the ones looking for a more placid place to live. This way strong cultural aspects are more likely to be preserved in this places. Thus, if the reason for providing financial resources to a place is to keep the cultural aspects of a society unscathed, a government should dedicate a parcel of its investments to small cities too.

Brazil, for example, is a country with a vast territorial extension. This topological feature turns even more difficult to find a place where all nation’s cultural traditions can be found. Of course, in a major city like São Paulo, one can find small samples of some brazilian cultural traits, but understanding people’s traditions would only be possible by going to their original grounds. For example, I am from Pernambuco, a state in the northeast of Brazil. In major cities of the country it is possible to try some typical foods and listen to a couple of songs from my place. However, this is not a reliable representation of our diet, neither of our music taste. They are usually the more turistic part of them, the more palatable to the globalized inhabitants of the megalopolis.

In conclusion, because of their importance to the country’s growth, major cities must be buttressed by the government with financial resources. However, it is unwarranted that the reason for the investments is to preserve the cultural traits of the society. It is possible to find some traditions of a nation in big cities of a country, but it is in not so globalized corners that they are most ingrained and conserved.