The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The letter adduces that the television station should return to give more attention to weather and local news in order to address their spectors complaints and to maintain their current sponsors. The evidences provided in the memorandum, however, are flimsy as they could be easily undermined by possible alternative explanations.

The letter starts by claiming that the majority of their spectors are carping the coverage of weather an local news. It is not explained, on the other hand, what is the subject of complaning regarding this matter, that is, people could be not enjoying the reporter, the edition or even the credibility of the news. If local news presented are not germane, poeple may be frustrated and start to complain about it. Moreover, the letter does not mention how relevant is the number of complaints about this issue. In numbers, is it really substancial to be taken for granted?

Second, the author says that local sponsors of the late-night news program are resigning their advertising contracts with the station. Other than lack of coverage of weather and local news, there are other plausible explanations for this evasion: advertising prices have become more expensive in the station, other stations are getting more audience, a local crisis is affecting the local companies and forcing them to diminish the number of commercial advertisements in television.

Last, the manager suggests that the station should return to give more attention to weather and local news as it did in the past. However, in order to that conclusion to be strong, he should have provided figures comparing the revenues and popularity of the station in the past compared to its current reputation and economic situation.

To sum up, the conclusion that the station is loosing revenues and is being criticized because it is devoting less time to weather and local news is feeble based on the evidences provided. In order to strength his point, the author should have provided details about the contents of complaints and their relevance in numbers, furthermore, he should also have delineated if the economic situation of the region, the station audience and advertising prices are preserved. Finally, the financial conditions of the station prior to decrease the weather and local news time should also have been provided.