The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.’

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Many claims that it is by fighting that people most develop their expertise, because when they are submited to competitive situations, in which they have to prove their capabilities to others, they learn how to assume a position of leadership. I disagree with that assumption. I do think that people`s skill improve more when they learn how to work together as they can analyze problems from several perspectives.

First of all, a competitive enviroment can be detrimental to a person because he can think it is only possible to be effective if he fights against his oponents. That is not true as a lot of accomplishments depends on the cooperation among individuals. For example, in a country, it is necessary that the states work in harmony with each other in order to develop good policies to the coutry as a whole. If each governor assumes a competitive position against other governors, the country may not benefit from the policies provided by them.

On the other hand, by being instilled in a sense of cooperation, a leader of any institution can alloy the skills of the members of its team in order to accomplish better results. Even in military field that is something possible. The end of the Second World War, for instance, ws only possible because countries worked together to defeat the Nazi. Hardly a single country would succeed to do so by working by itself.

Last but not least, when people cooperate they start to see the problems by other`s perspectives. Working in a team, firstly a person contributes with the knowledges they are most expert on. As time goes by, they become more and more involved in the process as a whole and they begin to fill their knowledge gaps from others expertise. In a competitive milieu, conversely, people may get frustrated by having to diverge with others most of the time. This will, eventually, affect the enterprise`s outcomes.

To sum up, by being competitive leaders can create a noxious enviroment to their team and enfeeble their perspectives of increase. Instilling in them a sense of cooperation, however, may instigate them to work together and fill their knowledge gaps by learning from each others` expertise.