As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Technology is presented everywhere, affecting the way people interact with the environment. From using a smartphone to trace its route towards somewhere to being assisted by a robot in a remote surgery, people are relying more and more in technology. However, the dissemination of such a paragon should not be taken as a threat to human cognition capacity, but as a tool to support its future achievements.

Time consuming tasks, which in the past used to be overwhelming, are now capable of being dealt by means of portable devices, such as smartphones, tablets, laptops and so on. Writing an essay, finding sights to visit in a touristic trip can now be easily and fast achieved by typing or touching few times in a screen. The ability to think was not lost; the task of putting ideas in action which was improved by those technology advents.

Another important contribution of technology to the society is in the field of Artificial Intelligence. Automated driven cars, the usage of intelligent agents to perform complex tasks such as remote assisted surgeries, the usage of machine learning algorithms to help in the identification of criminals in a video are just a couple of examples. Though, even stated as intelligent, those processes require human interaction at some point. Either by providing insightful information to the automation to be done or by developing more sophisticated hardwares and softwares to support that technology.

The amelioration that technology has brought to industrial field is another point to highlight. What before was time and human consuming processes, nowadays can be easily taken care of by automated machines. One more example of the benefit of relying in technology. Again, individuals can use their spared time to engage in more rich cognitive tasks.

As exposed, the outcomes brought by technological advances are capable of dealing with time consuming and not insightful activities which once depended on human interaction to run. Thus, the ubiquity of technology is not deteriorating human cognition but giving people opportunity to concentrate in more important problems and tasks which in turn tend to bolster technological processes, forming a cycle of cooperation but not deterioration of one to the detriment of the other.