The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo points out a series of reasons why Buckingham College should devoute some efforts in building new dormitories for its students. It expects that the number of new students keep growing along the years, that the rental prices in the vicinity raises and that more individuals are atracted by better accomodation conditions. Those assumptions, however, are flimsy and susceptible to questioning.

First of all, the enrollment rate can be increasing because the current generation comprises a great number of youngsters. Eventually, those students will be undergraduated and the amount of newcomers will not be so expressive as expected. In order to strenghten its argument regarding this matter, the author could have provided the distribution of ages in the country`s population. Moreover, this data should present a more or less close figures in the first percentiles in order to corroborate the author`s allegation.

Second, the author says that an apartment outside campus will be more expensive than one in-campus, based on the current rental prices trend in the region. On the other hand, he does not mention the characteristics of the apartments analyzed. If the properties are large enough to suit comfortably a group of students, they could share the place and split the expenses. This could end up being cheaper than renting a private dormitory inside the campus.

Last but not least, by stating that if the college provides better accomodations to its students, people are more likely to enroll at Buckingham, the memo adduces that accomodation issues are paramount in the students` choice of a college to attend. This cannot be corroborated without previous data to compare with. Like, a verified augment in the number of students after the repairment of dormitories in the past. Without more evidence to buttress it, this claim becomes even feebler, as the memo highlights that the current number of enrollments are high, that is, even with the present conditions of the accomodations, many students are choosing the college to attent.

To sum up, in order to decide if the college should invest in the construction of new dormitories, the campus administration must scrutinize the conclusions presented in the memo, as those could be easily undermined by alternative explanations. It would be salutary to strenghten the author`s arguments to present the population pyramid, the characteristics of the off-campus buildings reserarched and past data showing the number of enrollment`s trend after improvements in the campus` accomodations.