Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It can be very convenient to have a car to take us everywhere, whenever we want. However, there are some drawbacks related to these vehicles that need to be considered. The question is about whether the number of cars will be less in twenty years than it is nowadays. From my perspective, I believe that there will be fewer cars due to the fact that they pollute the environment, owning a car can be really expensive and there is a limited space for the construction of new roads.

To begin with, cars are one the main sources of pollution nowadays. By the proccess of combustion, cars are responsible for throwing tons of cubic meters of carbon dioxide (CO2) in the atmosphere, which is noxious to the enviroment. Whenever I am coming to a big city like New York, for example, I can always see a layer of pollution over the city as I am approaching it by airplane. The effects of such accumulation of toxic material in the sky can be easily noticed in the climate changes over the past years: heat waves and snow storms are much more common nowadays.

Also, possessing a car is not cheap. If I had a car, I would have to spend money with insurance, fuel and manutenability of the machine. Furthermore, cars depreciate really fast over time, which makes them less valuable along the years. Today I live in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and I go everywhere by subway, bus or taxi. When I need to go far away I can always rent a car for the amount of days I need. By doing this, I am contributing to put one less car in the streets and this is much cheaper then owning my own car. Most of my friends do the same thing, thus this seems to be a tendency in big cities, thereby contributing to less dependency on a car.

Last but not least, countries have no infinit space to build new roads. I am originally from Recife, a coast city in the northeast of Brasil, and the traffic out there is extremely heavy. I used to be stuck in the traffic when I went to the university; it was not seldom that I took more than thirty minutes to cover a distance of 1 mile by car. One way to avoid this kind of situation without reducing the number of cars in the streets is by building new roads so that there are more routes to follow when the traffic is jammed. Conversely, there is not so many space to this kind of work. There are houses and protected areas in the way that cannot be easily blighted for such purpose. Therefore, if the number of cars increase, we will get to a point where there will be no more space for them.

In conclusion, due to the fact that cars are one of the greatest sources of air pollution, the costs needed to maintain a car are high and countries have limited space to build new roads, I posit that there will be fewer cars in next twenty years than there is nowadays. People should find alternatives for commuting from today on. This will make their lives easy and cheaper.