Before an important exam, do you think it is better to prepare for a long time or only for a few days? Give examples and reasons to develop your opinion.

Some assert that it is easy to prepare for an important exam only for a few days, as the ideas are still fresh in mind. Others, conversely, argue that the brain cannot memorize tons of information at once. Yet, which strategy is better? As far as I am concerned, I posit that it is more advisable to study for a long time prior to an important exam because it will be easy to memorize things studied at steps. Moreover, it helps to attenuate the anxiety caused by the closeness to an exam. Finally, time can be better managed.

First, by starting to studying a long time in advance, the content seen would be hardly forgoten. For example, when I was at high school, I remember starting to study for a hard subject one month before the exam. When the test day arrived, I was sure about the answers because they were already established in my mind. On the other hand, the next semester I decided to study only for a few days before another subject, as consequence I performed really bad on the exam. I could not remember the topics I had studied and I had to struggle with my mind trying to remember simple things. So, while dedicating fewer time in preparation to an important exam resulted in a poor outcome, studying for a long time in advance helped me to achieve a higher grade.

Also, it helps me not to be anxious about the test. For instance, everytime I studied for an exam close to its due date, I used to be very anxious. This anxiety only harmed my hability to learn and memorize the topics and as time went by. I was getting more and more overwhelmed. Because of this frustration, studying only few days before an exam is not advisable in my point of view.

Finally, we study at a slow pace and save time to other activities. Whenever I started to study for an exam a long time before it, I could organize my schedule better. I also had time to go out with friends, to go to the cinema and even to relax once in a while. I could learn things with more confidence and not worry about taking a day off whenever I felt I needed. Because of this flexibility, there is no doubt studying for a exam long before it is advantageous.

As I have illustrated, I contend that it is better to prepare for an important exam for a long time before it as it is easier to memorize the topics, it prevents anxiety and it gives us more time to enjoy other activities. Everyone should start to prepare for exams for a long time in advance. They will definitely feel more confident about it.