The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo claims that fewer people attended Super Screen movies, in the previous year, because they are not aware of the increase in positive reviews Super Screen movies are facing. The arguments provided to accomplish that conclusion, however, are flimsy as they are susceptible to plausible alternative explanations.

First the letter mention that the percentage of positive reviews about some Super Screen movies increased in the year before, but fewer spectators are attending Super Screen-produced movies; thus, those reviews are not reaching the audience as it should be. On the other hand, the letter does not provide details on how those movies are being broadcasted in the theaters. Maybe people are not watching them because of the time they are being broadcasted, if it is passing only in the morning, for example, great part of the expected public may be at work.

Moreover, the percentage by itself may not be representative enough to indicate that this kind of movie is satisfying people. For instance, if the number of positive reviews went from 10 to 20 it represents an increase of 100%, however, 20 is not a substantial number compared to the total number of movie spectators. The author did not mention neither the percentage nor the amount of reviews, so his argument is strongly questionable.

The text also states that since the number of positive reviews increased, the quality of the movies are good. Just people are not being well informed of this. This argument is also feeble as great part of that review may have come from a small number of movies and may not represent the genre as a whole. For example, if one Super Screen movie was sucessful as to people start to make superb reviews about them, this could have lead the reported percentage increase in the positive reviews. This, conversely, does not represent the general opnion of the genre as a whole.

In conclusion, the final author`s allegation to strengthen advertising in order to increase people`s awareness of positive reviews Super Screen movies had last year may not accomplish the goal expected: to make people attend more this genre of movies. The arguments provided are weak. They could, otherwise, be strengthen if the memo had provided more details about the Super Screen movies` schedules, the percentage increase and the amount of reviewers and the distribution of reviews by movie.