Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

In addition to teaching the subject they have expertise on, one of the most challenging tasks of an educational institution is to prepare its students to life. Sometimes by helping them to overcome obstacles, other by providing inputs so its pupills are able to see that some decisions may no be the most appropriated to them. For that reason, I cannot completely agree with the assumption that institutions have a responsability to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

First of all, the unlikeliness of the success achieved by any student in a field of study is not something easy to figure out. Actually, it is a probability, so one can never be sure that the assumption he or she made about the student’s possible failure is correct. It is necessary a detailed approach in order to evaluate this likelyhood of unsuccess, based not only on the student’s imediate skills, but also on his or her preferences and beliefs.

For example, a student may have been pursuing a career that he or she is not really fond of because his or her parents are urging him or her to do so. Sometimes families carry, along with their traditions, professional careers that are somehow going to be forced into the generations to come. Considering for example a family of preeminets doctors, it is quite possible that a child feels the obligation to study medicine. By perceiving this problem, an educational institution has to provide to this student all the information he or she needs to decide if the field chosen is really the one he or she is more likely to succeed.

On the other hand, students may strive to learn some subjects in their fields of study, but such hardships must not be used as a metric to evaluate the likelyhood of their future success in the area. History is full of examples of people who were not accepted on a college, who had papers refused or who were judged by ther possible inabilities in some theme. After, they showed great potential in their fields of study. One classical example is the rejection of Einstein’s paper submited and refused by a renowned journal in 60th decade. They claimed that gravitational waves could not exist. Thus, discrediting the central part of Einstein’s work.

Therefore, intitutions have the responsability to orient their students to make the best choices considering not only their aptitudes for some subjects, but also their personal reasons for pursuing the carrer they chose. This orientation should not be biased. Conversely, they should serve solely as input to the students final decision.