Educational Institutions Should Dissuade Students From Pursuing Fields Of Study In Which They Are Unlikely To Succeed.

Deciding whether educational institutions should persuade students to give up from pursuing a field of study they are unlikely to thrive in is a convoluted issue; both sides have their pros an cons. Nevertheless, I believe educational precincts should deviate students from areas of study they are most likely to fail at, because the sooner students get to know about their possible wrong decisions, the better. Furthermore, students could be exposed to alternative fields of study and could be precluded from strong parental influence on their careers.

First, if schools let students know of their possible struggle at their future career early, they can look for other fields of study and they can spare time by not pursuing domains that they would likely end up quiting in the future. If these students only figure out about their lack of competence late, when in college, for example, they may feel frustrated and may not succeed in their undergraduate studies.

Also, if students are heralded that they may not succeed in their fields of study, they may start to explore other domains, which is salutary to them, as this broaden their choices of career to pursue. If students think they are well suited for the fields they have chosen, they may not have the opportunity to face alternative universes, which could be even more adequate to them.

Still, students may choose to pursue a field of study because of strong influence of their parents. For example, offspring of doctors may feel compelled to follow their parents` path and they may focus their studies in medicine. However, aptitude is not a matter of genetics. It is not warranted that those individuals will succeed in their careers just because their parents did. By dissuading students who seem inept to fulfill their duties as doctors, educational institutions would not only help these students to find a more appropriate field of study to them, but also they would help prevent the insertion of bad professionals in society.

Yet, some may allege that students may be frustrated and discouraged to pursue any field of study if they are discredited by educational instututions. Conversely, such disappointment could also happen if these students tardily realize that they are not able to thrive in the field of study they have chosen. They may feel that they devoted too much time and attention to a carrer that is doomed to fail.

In conclusion, the argument that students should not be dissuaded from pursuing a field of study they are unlikely to trive in is flawed, because the sooner students find out about their ineffectiveness in the career they have chosen, the better. Moreover, they can broaden their range of fields if instilled in looking up for alternative areas of study. Finally, this would also prevent students from pursuing careers advocated by their parents´ will instead of by their own.