The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette."On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involv

In the preceding argument, the author claims that the population of the Balmar island has increased to 100.000 during the summer that lead to significant rise on the mopeds accidents and the government has to reduce the number, the conclusion of the argument is based on the following premises. Firstly, they have to limit the number of mopeds renting to 25 per day that will lead to decrease number of accidents to 50 percent. Secondly, he bolsters his assumption by giving island of seaville as a successful example of reduction the mopeds accidents.

To begin with, the readily states that the government has to reduce renting the mopeds from 50 to 25 per day during the summer. Thus, in order to this assumption to be convincing, several question would need to be answered. Firstly, we would need to know what is the relation between using the mopeds and the accidents? But more than this, we would need to know what kind of accidents result from the mopeds usage? What is the other factors that lead to increase number of accidents Why these accidents did not appear in the past? All these question undermine the assumption and in order to strengthen it he has to answer them precisely.

Secondly, the author assumes that by reduction usage of mopeds this will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents, but he fails to provide evidence toward the number from where he concluded it? Moreover, a miscalculation of the number could also completely undermine the conclusion, perhaps there are another factor that lead to increase the accidents rate such as broken roads, bad infrastructures or the roads very tight to compensate all the population or what about number of cars, are the same"? Hence, no thing toward bolster the assumption and the author has to do full assessment for the Island to discover the real cause of the accidents expansion.

Thirdly, the argument assumes that the two islands are the same, but is the number of residents are the same, or is island of Seaville has the same nature perhaps there are sharp mountains lead to more accidents or what about their government vision is it the same of Balmar island?, actually, we do not have any reliable information about the Seaville island. So, the argument fails to provide any justification, and the difference between the islands could be the sources of the success for the Seaville island and is not mandatory that what works with them will work with Balmar island. In sum, the assumption is without basis and the argument would have been stronger if provide answers on all questions.

In conclusion. the argument fails to provide one of the key factor. Namely, all the assumptions are equivocal. So, without complete information and answering all the questions, the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate.