The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal."A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situ

In the preceding argument the author claims that some stimulating situations will lead to increase cortisol secretion that will increase the activity level, the conclusion of the argument is based on the following premises. Firstly, he bolster his claim my citing a study has done on 18 monkeys. Secondly, the study results indicate that we there are simulation such as encounter with unfamiliar monkey or the first time pregnancy has higher level of cortisol compering to has several offspring. Thirdly, he states that amount of cortisol has increased on the children when their parents return after an absence. Hence, in the first glance it may seem plausible. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of assumptions that could undermine the value of the argument.

To begin with, the author states that by presence a stimulus that will enhance the cortisol secretion and will increase the activity level. But he readily cites a study on 18 monkeys to indicate the previous results, but there are multifarious factors that remains elusive and intractable, such as, using 18 monkeys will represent all the human beings, even though, is it representative enough to draw broad conclusion. Further, what is the margin of the error?. And how was the study conclude? All these questions play major role of determining the effectiveness of they study. In other words he fails to mention the controlling variables to conclude the assumption.

Second, even there is a positive and concrete relation between the effect of simulation factors on the cortisol level and the level of activity, this does not necessarily indicate conspicuous relation between the two event. In other words, the author fails to mention how he conclude the result and how the strong relation is. So, building decision depends on weak relation is implausible, and it may need to answers all the previous questions in order to strengthen his position.

Third piece of evidence, the author claims that firstborn humans produce more cortisol when their parents return after an absence. But he fails again to provide reliable information, how he concluded the result is it based on lab test? Furthermore, he claims that the first pregnancy hold more cortisol that the multi-one, but is the study large and able to extrapolate the results for the whole people. Thus, the third assumption lack a depth of details that would help to evaluate the significance of the argument.

In conclusion, the author fails to provide one single key factor. Namely, the assumptions are weak enough to undermine the value of the argument and he needs to answer all the previous questions in order to flourish the argument. So, without complete information the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate.