The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument claims that birth-order plays a significant role in an individual’s level of stimulation supported by experiments carried out on 18 rhesus monkeys. Apparently, first-borns showed a higher production of cortisol hormone than their younger-siblings when put into stimulating situations.

However, the argument lies unjustified because of a sundry of loopholes that lay unexplored.

Firstly, the experiment only takes into account stimulating situations. Surely there would be a different outcome if the monkeys were placed in a quotidian schedule. The argument would also be more veritable if it considered hormone levels of first-born monkeys and the younger-born monkeys and cast them into variety of tests that indite of critical situations, normal routines and exciting encounters.

Second, the author tries to imply that first-born human offspring, showed similar increase in cortisol hormone as well- thereby indirectly tries to validate his conclusion. Because the author fails to consider the hormone levels of second-born and third-born human offspring, this observation might as well be futile. This argument can be strengthened if the author also noted the cortisol-levels in the younger-offspring. And although the author does try to fit changes in human anatomy in rhesus monkeys, one has to go only a little far to disprove the correlation because the human-beings are an evolved and highly-capable race and higher level of stimulation of environment was a necessity—something that is not requisite to rhesus monkeys.

Lastly, to conclude the argument and strengthen it furthermore, the author tries to increase the argument’s credibility by associating the fact of increased cortisol hormone-levels in first-time mothers as compared to those that have given multiple births. If cortisol hormone is proportional to levels of stimulation in an individual, the cortisol-levels in the mother would mean negligible to the cortisol-levels in the first born since those first-born, if placed in a highly stimulating environment would have higher cortisol levels and vice versa. Regardless, the high cortisol-levels during first-time pregnancy can be a result of experiencing child-bearing for the first time. Also, this contributes nothing to the argument as those mothers that have given birth multiple times have also have had their peak cortisol-levels during their first-pregnancy.

Conclusively, for above reasons, the argument lies unjustified and full of flaws. Author may provide credible evidence as to why necessary studies were carried out incompletely.