The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal."A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situ

In the preceding argument, the author claims that there is a relation between the birth order and level of cortisol and its impact on the level of activity, the conclusion of the argument is based on the following premises. Firstly, the author cities a study on 18 rhesus monkeys indicates that first born infant produce twice amount of cortisol when they facing unfamiliar monkey, moreover, he states that the first pregnancy had higher level of cortisol compering with who has several offspring. Secondly, he states that firstborn human produce more chortisol on their parents return after absence. Hence, in the first glance it may seem plausible. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of assumption that could undermine the value of the argument.

To begin with, the author states that firstborn has higher level of cortisol by facing stimulus. but he fails when readily citing a study over monkeys and directly link the results to the human beings. In deed, there are multifarious factors that remains elusive and intractable. Such as, using monkeys results reflect and emulate the human being. Then, if we assume that using monkeys are plausible, is the sample size enough? Is it representative enough to draw a broad conclusion. Moreover, what kind of demographic data they used perhaps their sleeping habits type of foods has a role on the chortisol level. In other words he fails to mention the controlling variables to conclude the assumption.

Second piece of evidence, the author fails to describe the fact that rising the chortisol level when encounter foreign monkeys is not the single factor, because chortisol is part of complete system, and there are another hormones play a major role to stabilize the body. Further, indicating that the first child has higher level it could be due to lack of experience or perhaps the parents relation stronger than anyone so the chortisol level is fluctuated. Then, the fact that we do not have any significant information about this assumption, and would need to know from where he concluded the assumption?. Thus, the assumption lack a depth of details that would help to evaluate the argument.

Thirdly, the author fails to provide evidence about the first pregnancy level of cortisol, and several questions would need to know such as, how many female monkeys in the study? What kind of stressful situation they face? Is there any diseases and what about their eating habits or simply it could be the first pregnancy so there are different changes on their bodies that has an effect on the chortisol level. So, in order to strengthen the argument all these questions need reliable answers.

In conclusion, the author fails to provide one of the key factors. Namely, all the previous assumptions are equivocal. So, without complete information the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate.