"A folk remedy* for insomnia, the scent in lavender flowers, has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was moni

In the preceding argument, the author claims that the best treatment for insomnia as chronic disease is the scant in Lavender flowers. The conclusion of the argument is based on the premises. Firstly, citing a study on 30 volunteers suffering from chronic insomnia, and examining them, by taking their usual sleeping medication for a period and taking Lavender as a curable remedy for insomnia. In a controlled sleeping environment. Hence, in the first glance it may seem plausible. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on the plethora of assumptions that could undermine the argument.

First of all, the argument citing a study on 30 volunteers suffering from insomnia, but fails to mention multifarious factors such as their age, gender, physical diseases, and lifestyle,that have a direct effect on their sleeping hours. For example, male adult tends to sleep less than young adult as a normal physiological needs. And taking a small sample to generalize the result over millions of people do not sleeping well is not reliable. In other words, fails to mention the controlling variables to conclude the assumption.

Secondly, the author states that volunteers for the first week have taken their prescribed medications in controlled sleeping rooms and the results were falling in deep sleep but wakened feeling tired. And the second week was with fewer sleeping hours and more feeling tired. As long as, the author fails to provide more significant information about the medications types sometime some medications have a side effect like feeling tired and drowsy, so, generalization the results are not true, furthermore, are all the 30 volunteers taking the same kind of medications, and what kind of controlling factors in their rooms the author meant is it light, sound, ventilation or temperature. Moreover, holding the medication for a week is not mandatory to have these results specially these kind of medications have a long effect on the human body and need long time for excretion. In short, without these details nothing toward bolstering the assumption.

Thirdly, the author claims, taking Lavender on the third week has a positive consequence by more sleeping hours and feeling comfort, but the plausible point what is the compositions of this flower, the effect of soporific on human is the same, thus, why doctors do not use it as a medication instead of the ineffective sleeping medication. So, without ruling out all the possible questions about this flower, the author fails again to support the situation.

In conclusion, the author fails to justify the argument about using Lavender flower as a remedy for insomnia. To be more convincing, the author should provide more information about all the previous flaws.