People should not be misled by the advertising competition between Coldex and Cold-Away, both popular over-the-counter cold medications that anyone can purchase without a doctor's prescription. Each brand is accusing the other of causing some well-known,

In the preceding argument, the author claims that the best over counter medication is Cold-away, the conclusion is based on the following premises. Firstly, people should not be misled by the advertising competition between Coldex and Cold-away medications both are for the cold symptoms and anyone can purchase it without doctor's prescription. Secondly, both brands have side effects such as hypertension from the Coldex drug in contrast Cold-away is known to cause drowsiness. The author has recommended the Cold-away because has been on the market for much longer time and is used by more hospital. Hence, in the first glance it may seem plausible. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of assumptions that could undermine the value of the argument.

To begin with, the largest leap in the argument is the assumption that advertisement will misled people to purchase the Cold drugs. In fact, as an over the counter medications they are more than safe with similar effects and minimal differences and no evidence is presented to establish that advertisement will misled people. One strike fact that these remedy have the same components so the action is the same. in order to strengthen this part of the argument, the author has to examine all the possible differences in both drugs to make a real competition.

The second piece of evidence also loses its significance by stating the medication side effects such as hypertension for Coldex and drowsiness for Cold-away, is not plausible to mention these signs without real evidences from where he concluded the results. Moreover, increasing the blood pressure might be minimal without any real bad effect, perhaps it is a good medication with people complain from hypotension so will be very helpful. In contrast taking Cold-away during the day perhaps will affect people productivity. In such case the assumption would be significantly weakened.

Last but not least, even there is a good indicator between the medication availability for longer time and using it in hospitals, this does not necessarily indicate a conspicuous relation between the two events. In other words the author fails to mention why doctors prefer using Cold-away medication? perhaps it is cheaper that Coldex so at the end its economical issue. Furthermore, Col-away has been for longer time in market, perhaps the factory's Cold-away has been before the Coldx so they used to use the old medication. So building decisions on weak assumptions is not reliable.

In conclusion, the argument fails to mention one key factors. Namely, the author recommendation of using Col-away as an effective cold drug was equivocal. so, without complete information, the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate.