Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands were extinct. Previous archaeological findings have suggested t

In the preceding argument the author states that humans are the main cause of large mammal species extinction, the conclusion of the argument is based on the following premises. Firstly, the author bolsters his assumption by stating that when people arrived in the Kaliko islands about 7.000 years ago, and within 3.000 years the large animals were extinct. Further, he claims that people used to hunt large animals for feeding purposes and the scientist discovered large bones discarded that people have been hunted them. Lastly, he states that there is no evidenced of using a sharp tools such as stone knives that could be used for hunting. Hence, in the first glance it may seem plausible. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of assumptions that could under mine the value of the argument.

To begin with, the readily states that the main cause of large mammals extinction is people over hunting. On one hand, even there is a positive and concrete relation between human arriving 7.000 ago and extinction of large mammals, this does not necessarily indicate a conspicuous relation between the two events.In other words, how he concluded the causation? Or, what the strong relation is? In deed, the possible explanation is perhaps decrease the food resources led to sharp decline on their numbers. Or the second explanation the climate has changed that affected the vitality of these animals. Thus, building a decision depends on weak assumption could mitigate the value of the argument.

Secondly, the fallacy of the argument also lies in using undefined language. What does the author mean by "large"? Also, which type of animals have been extincted? Hence, the author has to be precise and specific in his assumption. Then, he claims that scientists has found fish's boon, and concluded that the extincted animals were large mammals. To illustrate this, fish's are marine animals and varied in their size and all the large fish's presented on the deep seas and oceans and is not easy to hunt it, and what died were mammals this explain the ambiguity in the assumption.

Thirdly, he concluded that the researchers could not find sharps tools such as stone knives. Thus, the good question here how they used to hunt large animals without effective methods and equipment. In deed, the author explanation is vague! and requires further illustration. Additionally, the best explanation that people were not the cause of extinction because simply did not have the basic tools to do that. Hence, the assumption is lack a depth of details that would help to evaluate the significance of the argument.

In conclusion, the argument fails to mention one key factor. Namely, all the previous assumptions are equivocal. In sum, withot complete information and explanations the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate.