The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great

In the preceding argument the author claims that they have to replace the manned space flight with the unmanned one, the conclusion is based on the following premises. Firstly, he states that the manned flight is costly and dangerous. Secondly, he claims that the unmanned flight more effective in the data collection without cost and risks with sending men and women into space. Thirdly, they have to invest their resources in unmanned space flight. Hence, in the first glance it may seem plausible. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of assumption that could undermine the value of the argument.

To begin with, the author readily sates that they have to replace the manned flight with the unmanned one, and he supports his position by stating that the manned one is costly and dangerous, but the truth that he fails to provide evidence from where he conclude the first assumption. Perhaps the both flights are costly with different money distribution and both of them dangerous in different ways, so we do not have enough information about the exact cost of the flights, and the shape of dangerous. so, the assumption lack the depth in order to bolster the argument.

Secondly, the author assumes that the unmanned space flight is more effective than the manned one because they are able to collect data from the space without any risks and cost, but the flaws here that compering a human kind work with automatic system raises a big debate because the unmanned flight has designed for specific numbers of roles and duties in contrast the human being, are able to convey myriad of information, personal experiences and their feeling out side the earth. Thus, the author fails again to warrant his position.

Thirdly, the author recommends to invest more money on the unmanned flight but he fails to describe how they regulate their budget, what about their in come or revenue, and what is a plan they use in order to improve their performance. So, there are a lot of facts we do not know about their economic status and without these facts the recommendation is not reliable.

In conclusion, the author fails to mention one key factors. Namely, all the previous assumptions lack the reality and depth to support the argument. Hence, without complete information the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate.