A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Mor

In the preceding argument, the author states that they have to open a New Captain Seafood restaurant that specialized in Seafood because will be popular and profitable, the conclusion is based on the following premises. Firstly , he states a study that the consumption of seafood increased by 30 percent. Secondly, he claims that the Bay city families have two incomes and do not prefer to eat at their homes plus they concern to eat healthy foods. Hence, in the first glance it may seem plausible. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of assumptions that could undermine the value of the argument.

To begin with, the author readily states a study that the residents consumption for the seafood has increased by 30 percent. In deed, there are multifarious factors that remains elusive and intractable. Such as, what is the sample size? Is it representative enough to draw a broad conclusion? Plus, what was the previous percent for the people consumption seafood, perhaps the previous percent was 25 percent thus is not a good indicator to open a new seafood restaurant. Further, what is the nature of this study? How they conclude the results? Accordingly, all these factors play a major role to extrapolate the results, and in order to support his position he has to answer all the previous question clearly.

Secondary, even there is a positive and concrete relation between the families high income plus their low desire to cook at their homes and the idea of opening seafood restaurant. This does not necessarily indicate a conspicuous causation between the two events. In other words, how he concluded the relation? How strong the relation is? Perhaps, it is right that they have two incomes but may be not all of them like the seafood or perhaps they have eating system or complain from health problem preclude them to eat the seafood. Consequently, the argument is without basis and he has to provide reliable information to strengthen his case.

Thirdly, the fallacy of the argument also lies in assuming that all the residents do not cook at their homes. But in order to be convincing several questions would be answers. Firstly we would need to know what data he has used to draw this point? But more than this, we would need to know if they do not cook at their homes what meals they eat and from where?Specially the 30 percent is not significant indicator for the strong predilection of the seafood. Last but not least, he assumes that the resident prefer healthy food, then how did he know that the seafood at restaurant is healthy?. Thus, he fails again to mention plausible causes to boost his argument.

All in all, the argument fails to provide one of the key factors. Namely, all the previous assumptions are equivocal. Hence, without complete information the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate.