"A folk remedy* for insomnia, the scent in lavender flowers, has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was moni

In the preceding argument, the author states that the best remedy for insomnia as a chronic disease is the scant in lavender flowers. The conclusion is based on the following premises. Firstly, the author citing a study over 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia. Secondly, the 30 volunteers continued to take their medications for three weeks in controlling environment by using lavender scanted pillows. Hence, in the first glance it seem plausible. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of assumptions that could undermine the value of the argument.

T begin with, the argument readily states a study by citing 30 volunteers, but there are multifarious factors that remains elusive and intractable. Such as, firstly is the sample size representative for generalization on the whole people are suffering from insomnia, moreover, what about the demographic data, for instance, age, healthy lifestyle, social status, and type of foods they consumed. All these factors play major roles when represent a study. In other words, he fails to mention the controlling variables to conclude the assumption.

Second, even there is a positive and concrete relation between using lavender pillows and induce sleeping for longer time this does not necessarily indicate conspicuous relation between the two events. In other words, the author fails to mention How he concluded the results, how the strong relation is, For example why doctors do not use the pillow as curable remedy for insomnia instead the useless medications. So, building decision depends on weak relation is implausible.

Last but not least, the author fails to mention what type of controlling variables they used, perhaps some volunteer prefer calm with cool temperature in contrast some of them prefer different conditions, so how they controlled all these. Furthermore, are all the volunteers taking the same medications for insomnia in deed, there are uncountable number of medications with different actions and side effects for insomnia. Thus, without ruling out all the possible questions about this flower, the author fails again to support the situation.

In conclusion, the argument fails to mention one key factor. Namely, the relation between using the lavender pillows and the soporific effect was equivocal. So, without complete information the argument unsubstantiated and open to debate.