Arguement: The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of th

In the preceding argument, the business manager states that they ought to expand their coverage of weather and local news on all news programs, the conclusion is based on the following premises. Firstly, the television station received complaints from their viewers argued that the weather and the local news time is very short. Secondly, the local business that used to advertise on the television has canceled their advertisements. So, in order to save the profits they manager states to increase the coverage time of the local and weather news. Hence, in the first glance it may seem plausible. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of assumptions that could undermine the value of the argument.

To begin with, the manager states that the audiences start complain from the decrease coverage of the weather and local news. However, the one fact here is what is the appropriate time to cover the weather news its just few minutes to keep the people informed about the weather status. Then, is not plausible to increase time of local news when there are not new events, so what the television will present?. Thus, in such case the following assumption would be weakened.

Another unsupported assumption is the local advertisement companies have been canceled with the local television, but the assumption lack a depth of details that would help to evaluate the significance of the results. Perhaps they start cancelling due to bad services from the television, or disorganization or perhaps there is not conspicuous plan for their work, leads to avoid dealing with them and may be there is better new television with new mentality that will flourish their advertisements. Consequently, this assumption is not the real cause of the decline.

Thirdly, even there is a positive and concrete relation between coverage more local and weather news and increase the revenues, this does not necessarily indicate a blatant relation between the two events. In other words, the manager has to think how they have to increase their profits?, perhaps they have to organize their programs or by adding new programs to the local television such as, the talent shows or the singing programs. So, building decisions depend on weak relation is not reliable.

In conclusion, the manager fails to mention one key factor. Namely, in order to increase the profits they have to change their old mind and be more open to every things new. Thus, without complete information the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate