It has been said, "Not everything that is learned is contained in books." Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

To develop a profound knowledge in a certain field is very important to succeed in life. One of the discussions about this subject is whether it’s more important to achieve this knowledge through books or life experience. In my opinion, even considering the value of life experience, it’s more important the knowledge learned from books since it give us an intellectual basis that permit us to be better prepared for life responsibilities.

One might say that life experience is more important than what we learn in books. A common example is the scenario where a person has a very good economical knowledge acquired from books, however this same person assumes an important role at a company and it’s not able to develop his knowledge in this job. In this sense, a lack of experience acquired from a life work could be the answer why this person was not able to develop a good job.

However, this kind of assumptions cannot be a way to generalize the idea that life experience is the better way to gain knowledge. It’s true that Steve Jobs didn’t finish his college and even though became the CIO of a company considered a giant in the technology field. However, Jobs did have a solid background based in years of studies that allowed him to develop his ideas in Apple. Imagine if Jobs didn’t have a background in computer science at all, how could he become able to create his computers without any knowledge learned from books and some college courses? Certainly, a basic background was necessary to him and he found it in many books.

In this context, books become an undergird that is very necessary. If one wants to succeed in professional life, one needs to be better prepared knowledge that could be obtained from books. Researches demonstrates that people without many years of studies tends to have jobs that doesn’t pay them well. Certainly, experience is also necessary, however, it’s not possible to develop knowledge based on experiences if we don’t have a background that allow us to start our careers. In this sense, a person that ignores what books can teach probably will not be well prepared for challenge not only in professional life, but in all other aspects.

In conclusion, one can say that books are the most important way to acquire knowledge. Through the knowledge learned from these important tools, we can become more prepared for life, since books always were a cornerstone for the development of our society.