TOPIC # 46 What are the important qualities of a good son or daughter? Have these qualities changed or remained the same over time in your culture?

There are many qualities of a good son or daughter like to be obedient, caring, and others. Personally I think the important qualities did not change through the time although there are some changes in minor qualities. The following paragraphs will explain my opinion.

To begin with, the most important characteristics in sons are respect and obedience. Kids have to obey their parents even if they did not agree with them because parents always work for interest of their kids; also parents have more experience and knowledge so they know what benefit their kids. Therefore kids should follow their parents' orders without a lot of arguments and if they did not get into agreement, kids have to discuss that with parents politely and in calm manner to show respect. These qualities are the base of a good and strong relationship between parents and their sons and daughters.

Secondly, other characteristics are to be independent and helpful. Many sons unfortunately depend a lot on their parents. This makes parents feel tired of lots of responsibilities. Kids should learn how to study by themselves and not rely on parents every day in their studies. They should do some tasks at home like participate in household chores, work in mowing grass in garden, and help fathers in fixing some broken appliances at home. By doing this, kids will give some time to their parents to get relaxed and have a rest. Parents need to have some time to themselves to enjoy the life, and this can happen by the help of their kids.

Finally, I believe that such values did not change. We inherit good values for one generation to another. We learned that respect to parents is essential and we teach that to our children. Kids also learn the good values from school and TV and other places and means. However, each generation has its fingerprint. Today, kids have more freedom in making their decision and running their lives than kids in the past. Also today kids are more demanding financially. They need their own room, computer, Iphone and etcetera. But still I think these changes do not interfere with important values which did not change across the times.

To sum up, respect, obedience, and helping parents are important values that all generations share and have. There are only little differences in values from one generation to another, which do not affect the important values.