TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

There is a great debate about being a sportsman or a scientist, but what people need to know is that the knowledge has given the most notorious advents to the world. Therefore, as I am concerned institutions such as universities or colleges are forced to invest more money in classes and libraries which are the pillars of education. I strongly believe this because students will develop new breakthroughs in the future and will drive their success.

First of all, it is common knowledge that students who go into science have better opportunities than who go into sports or art; even though it does not sound well, it is true. In my own example, when I was 18 thinking about what I should study in the university (career path), I had a lot of problems because I was a musician –and I keep being now- and I was playing in a bunch of bands. However, I realized that my life would be assured if I went for Industrial Engineering. So, I decided to go in that way and now I have a great job, a beautiful wife and children, and I feel happy. And I feel that the classes served me a lot to achieve it.

Second, It is said that if you follow your heart you can find the best way of dealing with all the difficulties in the world, nonetheless, I would say that it is not asserted due to the fact that if you do not make the right decisions you will not be as successful as you want. For instance, living with my father who has been a determined man and always has been giving me some pieces of advice about my life and career according to his life experience, which is not the worst, but he being an artist has not had the life that he had wanted, therefore, I keep thinking about my father’s mistakes in order to get great deals in my life.

To sum up, although being an artist or musician you could survive, going for a science career will give you the peace that you need in your future, moreover, it could provide you some important tools to cope with some future negative situations, and to be successful. As a result, what I think is that universities should give more attention, and money, to classes and libraries.