TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

Many universities in the world invest a lot of money in extracurricular activities such as sports or social activities; on the other hand, other universities and colleges focus their budgets in libraries and better equipment for the classes. In my opinion, the financial support of universities and collages should be invested in social activities and sports as well as classes and libraries because students will gain new skills needed for their future life.

First, Supporting social activities will enable students to develop social skills such as leadership and group work that will help them to convey ideas effectively and efficiency. For example, Join a discussion group outside classes will allow students to have interaction with other students with differents points of views. Moreover, This social activity helps the student develop confidence in their ideas and also improve their leadership since they have to share thoughts with other people.

Second, Sports will let the student relax from the pressure of studies and also creates an enviroment of competitiviness that help the student improve themselves. For instance, to do a sport such as soccer or basketball not only help the student to be in good shape , but also permits him to be more focus in their studies since the pressure of final exams and projects is shortened by the physical activity.

Third, social activities and sports provides the student with confidence for future challenges such as looking for a job, giving an oral presentation , leading a group,etc. One example of the benefits in supporting social activities and sports is when a student has to face an interview. This event is not an easy job and many student tend to fail. However, if you have experince interacting with other people in social activities, an interview would seem easier since you learned to how to manage your words and ideas.

In conclusion, social activities and sports should receive the same amount of money since they help the students to develop certain characteristic for the future.