TPO 02- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

People are valued by their merits and virtues. There is no question that telling the truth is widely considered as one of the factors people take into account while they judge others. Should one claim telling the truth is one of the most important prerequisites for establishing any relationship between humans, it would possibly not regarded as on overstate assertion. There are people, however, that hold the opposite view and this is the point where a disagreement with respect to this issue is to be formed. I personally posit that depending on the situation the importance of always telling the truth can varies. This prospect is based on the reasons which will be discussed in detail in the following essay.

The first reason that is worth mentioning here is that sometimes telling the truth can jeopardize people's lives. Indisputably, safety and security are everyone's concerns. Humans, in general, attempt to cling to everything that keeps them safe and secure. I believe it would a plausible excuse for not telling the truth provided that you feel you might be in danger. When it comes to elderlies and children, given the fact that they are both more fragile with analogues to others, its significance increases tenfold. As an illustration, according to my friend, her grandmother was not willing to tell other people that she was living alone in her home when being asked. To put it another way, she always tended to either evade answering questions regarding her loneliness or not being honest. As you can see this is one of the situations that simply justifies not telling the truth.

Having it said, however, there are moments in people's lives when not telling the truth might easily ruin one's reputation and face. People hardly trust others unless they perceive others' honesty and rightness and what would be the best measure of rightness? No one could ever cast doubt on the fact that telling the truth does indicate rightness. Otherwise, we can readily jump without hesitation into the fact that when somebody is not honest, first and foremost, puts themselves into danger of destroying their reputation in the community where they live or should I say even their family. This person will most likely end up being isolated and aloof, having no friends let alone close one. As a result, building relationship between people has some requirements and one of them is definitely telling the truth.

To wrap it up, people may face with situations in which they are forced to not to be honest. In sharp contrast to this, having considered the fact that human being is instinctively social creature and is eager to establish relationship with others, the importance of telling the truth in their social interactions cannot be ignored whatsoever.